The Joy of Being Fired!

My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.(James 1:2-4 KJV)

Going through is not something that our mind nor body likes to experience.  When we are in the midst of trying circumstances our fleshly nature and soul are under extreme pressure.  The weight of the pressure may cause us to be weary or to be even confused or unfocused in our thinking.  But it is in these times that we can rest in our spirit because of the finished work that is completed in us.  Going through the fire with God ensures that we will not be burned even though to our heightened natural senses it may appear that all may be lost (Daniel 3).

However, there is a work that needs to be completed in the outer parts of our being.  Our mind needs to be renewed in the areas of our will, emotions and thinking to conform to that of Christ.  Likewise, our bodies need to be disciplined and brought under subjection in order to manifest God’s glory in the midst of our trial.

Galatians 5:22-26 (New International Version) – But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

There is perfecting work taking place in the midst of our trial.  We must allow it to fulfill its course.  In order for the fruit to appear, there are things that need to pruned away or die off in the refining process of the trial. We will manifest the spiritual fruit of joy, patience and faithfulness when we submit to the process.

Proverbs 25:4 (New International Version) – Remove the dross from the silver, and out comes material for the silversmith;

2 Timothy 2:21 (King James Version) – If a man therefore purge himself from these, he shall be a vessel unto honour, sanctified, and meet for the master’s use, and prepared unto every good work.

In the midst of your current trial, are you allowing the fruit of joy, patience and faithfulness to be worked out in your life?  Know that the trial comes to shake whatever we are believing God for so that we grow in our reliance on Him and Him alone.  God is with you and is refining you in the furnace of your circumstance so that when you come out you will look more like Christ.  Allow your worth in the Kingdom to be  increased by focusing on the joy of your victory over this present trial.  Ask for God’s grace – His strength in your weakness, His power in your powerlessness and His ability in your inability.  He promises to gladly give you all you need.

2 Corinthians 12:9 (King James Version) But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Rest assured  that if you are going through, there is a promise that you are not in it alone.  Sense His presence in the midst of your trial and know that He will never leave you nor forsake you. Know that He will see you through and share with you the joy of your victory.

Additional Scriptures to Meditate on

You have proved my heart; You have visited me in the night; You have tried me and find nothing [no evil purpose in me]; I have purposed that my mouth shall not transgress. – Psalm 17:3 Amp

For You, O God, have proved us; You have tried us as silver is tried, refined, and purified. – Psalm 66:10

Blessed (happy, to be envied) is the man who is patient under trial and stands up under temptation, for when he has stood the test and been approved, he will receive [the victor’s] crown of life which God has promised to those who love Him. – James 1:12 Amp

And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us. – Romans 5:2b-5

11 Responses

  1. What a wonderful word of encouragement for so many during this time of uncertainty. I offer a special thanks to you for providing the specific Scriptures where these truths are found.

  2. God is in Control !

  3. Wonderful encouragement…and wonderful truth.
    God IS in control!! He knows the “big picture” even when we do not. Amen & Amen!!

  4. Never thought of my release in this way. This is the most encouraging thing that I’ve heard thus far as I am still learning to Let Go and Let God.

  5. Per Corey ten Boom: “Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to an all knowing GOD.”

  6. I have found that when we stand firm knowing that God has a work for us, use patience, and more importantly immerse ourselves in the Word during these periods, God ALWAYS comes through. He created us for a divine purpose, so He would never forsake Himself, let alone us.

  7. I am new to this blogging stuff so please bear with me. This is an outstanding article and very timely. Thank you!! God has always come through for me in such surprising and awesome ways, yet I default to fear (I am a slow learner).

  8. My walk with God is getting closer everyday and my scripture that I cling to is Romans 5:2b-5. I know I am in the fire and Jesus is with me! And if God is for me who can be against me? Thank you so much for the word of encouragement. May God Bless you!

  9. What an AWESOME message of hope, patience and love. Andrew hits the nail right on the head when he states “In the midst of your current trial, are you allowing the fruit of joy, patience and faithfulness to be worked out in your life? Know that the trial comes to shake whatever we are believing God for so that we grow in our reliance on Him and Him alone.” The problem we all face is to let go and let God handle the difficulties that we are facing. I have found that during my unemployment there is an incredible joy in saying to our Father, I can’t deal with this, you take it! Speaking from personal experience, He has and He is providing me with more opportunites right now than I would have ever thought possible. I encourage you to give your concerns and doubts over to Christ, let him handle it because as we are promised in Matthew 11:28, “Come to Me , all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will GIVE you REST.” Be still and listen for the the voice of God. Many Blessings to all of you at your time of struggle.

  10. It appears that I will be losing my job this week and this discussion has been of real value. Believe God!
    Barbra

  11. I would like to encourage you to rest in God’s ability to provide for you.
    He is faithful and will see you through this time of uncertainty.
    We have intercessory prayer every Tuesday evening for one of our businesses and we will praying for you this evening.
    God’s blessing

Leave a comment