Death to Debt

Romans 13:8 (Amplified Bible) – Keep out of debt and owe no man anything, except to love one another; for he who loves his neighbor [who practices loving others] has fulfilled the Law [relating to one’s fellowmen, meeting all its requirements].

I have truly been convicted by meditating on this scripture.  I have been rescued from credit card debt but there are other areas in my life where I am still indebted.  I am sensing that the Lord is speaking directly to me through this scripture.  He wants me to be totally freed from the system of debt.

The current financial crisis in the U.S.  is great example of a nation that has been consumed by debt at all levels of society.  We have printed debt with ease and now are enslaved to other nations who now have ownership of our future.  We have acquired the habit of issuing more debt as the answer to pressing challenges in our businesses and society.  Some of the results include:

  • Credit card and consumer debt (mortgage debt around $10.5 trillion);
  • Government debt (national debt broke $10 trillion on Sept. 30); and
  • Corporate debt (in the trillions of dollars).

Proverbs 22:7 (The Message) – The poor are always ruled over by the rich,  so don’t borrow and put yourself under their power.

What happened to the days when we just saved for what we wanted and then purchased it when we had accumulated the funds?  Debt has been promoted as a necessity in the media and have snared many who do not think of its many future consequences.

I believe that the Lord is speaking to many of us in the current crisis and is prompting us to abandon our reliance on the world to support our financial needs and to remain free.  Turning to debt as a solution to our financial need is a temporary fix that only pleases our flesh.  It removes us from focusing on the Source who promises to meet all of our need.  When we trust God in our financial need, we will please Him through our spirit.

Philippians 4:19 (King James Version) – But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

Debt is a system of of slavery that is entered into by voluntary participants.  I now realize that in the past, I have sought to have my financial problems addressed by accessing the debt system as a result of not trusting Him to meet my needs.  Today,  I am still paying the price for not trusting God in my past financial challenges.

Matthew 11:30 (Amplified Bible) – For My yoke is wholesome (useful, good–not harsh, hard, sharp, or pressing, but comfortable, gracious, and pleasant), and My burden is light and easy to be borne.

Debt is a yoke that we choose to put around our necks to the detriment of peace in our lives.  A temporary fix is followed by us shouldering the unpleasant weight of slavery around our necks.  God wants us to be and to only yoke ourselves to Him by trusting Him in all aspects of our lives – including our finances.

Taking on more debt is the price that we pay for not being disciplined.  Our flesh wants to take the easy way out but does not want to undergo the pain of discipline.  Staying free of debt requires that we save more and spend less.  Maintaining these disciplines may not be immediate but will enable us to obtain our financial freedom and to remain for years to come .

God wants us to be free so that the only debt that we owe anyone is the love that Christ has demonstrated to us.  I am making a commitment to reduce and eliminate the use of debt in my life.  I know that this will not be an easy process but in order to remain free, this is the price that I will have to pay.  I am praying that God will give me strength to trust Him more in this particular area.

My Prayer …

Father, I ask that You help me to trust You more in every area of my life; especially in the area of my finances.  Thank You for strengthening me in times of financial trials – both small and great.  Teach me to be confident in Your strength, power and ability to deliver in every situation.  Increase my faith to rely on You and You alone in my times of need.  I thank You for granting this request, in the name of Jesus.  Amen.

One Response

  1. Great thoughts!! Keep up the good work!

Leave a comment