Not In Your Strength

Philippians 1:6 (King James Version) – Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

When God speaks to us to do a particular work, one of the first things we do is to look at our limitations.  We review our education, pedigree or our contacts and come to the conclusion that we are not able to do it.  Actually, our conclusion is correct.  When God calls men and women to participate in a work on His behalf, it can never be accomplished in human strength or ability.  Our confidence should never be in what we can do or what we have but in the invisible power of God that is at work in us.  The only question that needs to be answered is: “Will I allow God to complete His work through me?”

2 Corinthians 12:9 (King James Version) – And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

I am sure that you can think of some of your weaknesses now and you should shout, “Hallelujah!” And be thankful that God will do a mighty work in spite of them.

God can only work through our weaknesses.  It is in a state of weakness that the power of God is perfected and reaches full manifestation.  When God calls someone to do a great work for Him, He chooses the most unlikely candidate.  He does not consider their abilities but looks to complete His work through their availability.  That availability is made only possible by us taking a back seat and allowing Him to work through us in our weakness.  When we recognize our weaknesses and trust God in them that is when we give permission for the power of God to flow through us.  It is only then do we become available to be used by Him.

Exodus 4:10-13 (New Living Translation) – But Moses pleaded with the Lord, “O Lord, I’m not very good with words. I never have been, and I’m not now, even though you have spoken to me. I get tongue-tied, and my words get tangled.” Then the Lord asked Moses, “Who makes a person’s mouth? Who decides whether people speak or do not speak, hear or do not hear, see or do not see? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go! I will be with you as you speak, and I will instruct you in what to say.”  But Moses again pleaded, “Lord, please! Send anyone else.”

The Bible is replete with examples of men called by God who did not have the worldly qualifications of what it would take to get the job done.  Moses is a good example.  But God still called them.  I thought this particular passage was amusing when I first read it but never thought that it would apply to myself.  I believe that God has called me to what I believe is a great work and I made many of the same excuses that Moses made.

God’s call on my life and on your life is the greatest partnership that could ever be established.  It is only when we recognize our weaknesses and walk in the assurance of God’s power can we accomplish great things for God.  We must keep in mind the fact that what God starts He is also able to finish only if we let Him work through our weakness.

Leave a comment