New Year Resurrection

Philippians 3:13-14 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

The New Year promises rebirth and resurrection.  It is a time of hope and anticipation.  That is why each year all over the world people mark this one day on their calendars.  The new year is about beginning and ending also.  I usually take the last two weeks of the year to contemplate on the lessons that I have learned.  Some may call it mistakes made and certainly I have made a few in 2008.  Invariably, these mistakes have been caused by not listening to the voice of God or seeking His input before I made a choice.  Not so in 2009!

My prayer in 2009 is to exercise God’s wisdom in all aspects of my life.  This was confirmed in my pastor’s New Year’s Eve sermon.  A greater degree of seeking His presence and a willingness to obey His voice.  I need His wisdom in all the choices that I make this year.

We are just about to complete our year-long series on the My Father’s Business Broadcast called “God’s Wisdom for Your Business” and I will be applying many of the concepts that Eddie, Ella and I discussed.  We need to ask ourselves, “Am I getting older or wiser?”

1 Corinthians 15:31 (Amplified Bible) – [I assure you] by the pride which I have in you in [your fellowship and union with] Christ Jesus our Lord, that I die daily [I face death every day and die to self].

John 3:30 – He must increase, but I must decrease.

Matthew 16:24 (New Living Translation) – Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me.

I also pray that at the end of 2009 that there would be less of me and more of Christ.  I will get out of the way and allow the resurrected life of Christ to live more freely through me in 2009.  God a thank you for a heart to serve more and to love more.  Pride and selfishness must be diminished in this current year in every area of my life.  This includes my family, business partners, customers, my students and everyone else that I come into contact with.  I want to be a disciple, a reflection of Christ in the world.

Mark 10:27  (King James Version) – And Jesus looking upon them saith, With men it is impossible, but not with God: for with God all things are possible.

Philippians 4:13 (Amplified Bible) – I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency].

I am expecting the anointing power of God to flow through my life in this current year.  For me, 2009 is: The Year of the Impossible Being Made Possible.  Yes, this will is a year of the miraculous being an every day occurrence.

What are those things in your life that you have determined must die off? And, what are those things that need to be resurrected in your life in 2009?  What things has God called you to that you have allowed to die?  Die to yourself and allow God to resurrect it.  You should be comforted because in the Kingdom of God, every death is followed by a glorious resurrection – to God be the Glory.

Leave a comment